Geeks logo

Wired Differently Chapter 1: The Sports Festival

!Will update at least once a week! This story follows the development of a friendship and the romantic relationship between Todoroki Shouto, and Midoriya Izuku, as they deal with their mental conditions. Todoroki has ComplexPTSD and Midoriya has General Anxiety Disorder. It's basically a mental health gay(LGBT) tododeku slow burn for the anime My Hero Academia.

By Ben Ray Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1

AN

This is a fanfic for M Hero Academia, all rights resevered.

A lot of this chapter was taken directly from the manga. All of the dialogue was taken word for word from the fan-translated manga I was reading. This is not the case for just about all later chapters, while I will be staying true to the cannon, I will explore the time that was not recorded, along with adding their thoughts to what was provided.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Todoroki's POV

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I generally didn't interact much with my classmates. It's easier that way. Growing up I was never allowed to socialize with my peers, so I never really developed those skills. I've never put much thought into it. I'm fine by myself.

Midoriya caught my eye. He seems to have this strange relationship with All Might. He made me use my left side in battle, which I promised myself that I wouldn't do. It makes me tense up it sends a chill down my spine and made me feel small and helpless and scared, despite how much power it gives me, often those effects linger after the battle. I also couldn't give Enji the satisfaction of using his power. That might seem petty, but that was already established and until then there was no focal point for me to start using it. Until now.

I wanted to talk to him. So during lunch, I went to talk to him alone. The problem was I didn't know what to say. I was never good with words, or other people. So I said the first thing that I deemed appropriate for me to say when I had him alone.

"Are you All Might's illegitimate love child? Or something?"

"N-no that's not it!" He blurted out, clearly nervous, that was not my intent how do I fix that?

"'No that's not it!' interesting way to phrase it... there's definitely something you're hiding. I'm sure of it. I'm not going to push you for more details." That is what I came up with to try to calm him down. I just find him lucky to have a positive personal relationship with the pro hero. I was curious about what their relationship really was. I also don't like it when people pry. things never go well when Enji tries to get information out of me. I felt that I needed to say something else. "You know my father is Endeavor. The second greatest hero of all time so if you're somehow connected to the number one guy, then... all the more reason for me to crush you," calling Enji my father left a sour taste in my mouth, and I did not want want to beat him for Enji's sake. I just felt like that is what he'd expect me to say.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Midoriya's POV

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

During the lunch break of the festival, Todoroki pulled me aside and out of the cafeteria. After the declaration of war he gave me before, I had no idea what to expect.

"Are you All Might's illegitimate love child? Or something?" he asked bluntly.

I started to panic what if he was able to figure out just how big a connection I had with All Might. "N-no that's not it!" I blurted out.

"'No that's not it!'" interesting way to phrase it... there's definitely something you're hiding. I'm sure of it. I'm not going to push you for more details." I was really panicking, so much that I didn't process his last sentence right away, so my mind was in full panic how much does he know? Will he figure it out? How far will he look into it? Then I processed it what he just said and a wave of relief fell over me. Then he spoke again "You know my father is Endeavor. The second greatest hero of all time so if you're somehow connected to the number one guy, then... all the more reason for me to crush you."

I was relieved that he didn't push for information, but still anxious about it, anxiety isn't something you can just turn off. How much does he know!? I know that he's not pushing for information but I was still nervous about our battle!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sitting in the waiting room I started thinking, well not started but still I need to come up with a real plan, I'm fighting Todoroki, what do I know about Todoroki?... he's always off by himself, so I never really talked to him, though he is really cute, my anxiety just never let me go over and talk to him... you're getting off track Izuku! Focus, he's really powerful, but of course, he is! He's the son of Endeavor the number two hero, but Todoroki never uses fire, only his ice, he always starts with a wall of ice I need to be prepared for that. my mind wandered off as I came up with a plan.

Then the fight started. When we were fighting I talked about how I wanted to be a hero and that was why I was giving it my all. Then I told him that his power was his own. That's when I saw something click, and it showed in his mismatched eyes and I couldn't help but smile as he unleashed his fire, melting the ice expanding the air and knocking me out of bounds, and then I was rushed to Recovery Girl for medical attention.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Todoroki's POV

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The battle started and I fought with my ice and only my ice as I always did. And then he started talking... talking about how he wants to be number one and he'll give it everything he's got until he's there. As he was talking, I started remembering, remembering my mom. How much she cared about me and that reminded me that I wanted to be a hero for me, not Enji. I forgot about him, for my flames were now mine not my his. I had forgotten that a long time ago. I could use them now. I can use MY flames. And I unleashed them. for the first time, I used them without all of those complex negative emotions.

For some reason, he was smiling. He was injured and about to lose, yet he was smiling. I could not get that smile out of my head.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I ran into Enji after the battle. He was pleased that I used my fire. I told him that I was only able to use it because I wasn't thinking about him and that I wasn't sure if that was a good or bad thing.

I thought about that through my next fights. Figuring out how, if I could even make my flames my own and not Enji's. Whenever I thought of his flames, I felt small and terrified.

In my battle with Bakugo, I didn't use my fire. I was afraid. The thought of using my flames scared me to my core. Then from the bleachers, Midoriya called out. He yelled: "Don't lose, come on!" and then I felt different, safe in away. I felt like I could use my flames. There is something about him that I don't understand, but I would like to. I decided that I wanted to befriend him. Though I did not know how to go about doing so. I had never had a friend before.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you like this story? I have others in the story, and I have and several other series that I am working on, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Next Chapter

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben Ray

literature
1

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.